Testimonials

We've passed this attraction many times on our visits to Brighton but thought we'd give it a whirl on our latest visit last week and I'm so glad we did. We spent a fascinating two hours in this beautiful old Victorian building boasting some excellent modern and high-tech aquariums and attractions. The tanks are clean, colourful and huge and the species on display are both beautiful and fascinating.The glass bottomed boat ride was definitely worth taking as was the walk through the glass tunnel, marvelling at the sharks, rays and turtle as they glided gracefully over our heads. The staff were friendly and informative and it was delightful watching them interact with parents and children at some of the displays. This attraction is not cheap but worth every penny and definitely worth a visit. Highly recommended.

Trip Advisor, visited September 2014


My friend and I spent the best part of a day looking round sea life we thought it was magical.
I likened the feelings I had to a visit to Disney in Paris, I thought it was quite emotional and unique especially to see how beautiful these creatures really are close up.
It upset me to realise how we have abused the oceans over Centuries without a care for these truly beautiful creatures.
The open top tanks are wondrous to experience the fish being friendly and really seeming to enjoy the attention from the people.
This attraction is for all age groups to enjoy and especially educational for Children. And like the other Gentleman that took good photos I have pictures to cherish of our day, and of amazing quality.
The tanks are so clean and well illuminated I watched the fish swim for ages.
Their is also a cafe in the center for refreshments although it was constantly packed and we could not get seats.
We would certainly go again the work that is carried out to protect these fish is heartwarming and hopefully the message will get across.

Trip Advisor, visited August 2014


I went with my husband and mum and we all had a brilliant time. There is so much to learn and see, I especially liked the glass tunnel in the ocean tank watching the sharks, etc floating over you. I'm a big lover of clown fish so did spend a bit of time at a tank full of them lol. The kids that were there was loving all the fish and there are little activities that they can do on the way round to keep them entertained.

Trip Advisor, visited August 2014


So much to like, Excellent staff, and Beautiful surrounds in this historic building. Nothing to dislike

Trip Advisor, visited August 2014


we haven't been to the sealife centre for about 2 years,at that time it was easy to walk around it in half an hour and for the price wasn't really worth it but decided to give it another chance seeing as i had a free adult ticket.
well worth it much has improved and the refurb tastefully done still keeping its Victorian charm.
lots more to see and do,good little quiz book for the children to do on the way round which makes sure you get to see everything on display plus if they collect all the stamps on the way round they can get a prize from the gift shop (which was a badge at the time we went).
the amazon display was great,the floor covered like the amazon and a childrens entrance through a tree was good fun.lots of amazon animals to see,little bubbles in the turtle and anaconda tanks that the children can climb in and pop there heads up.
my son was amazed by the underwater tunnel with the sharks and ray and huge turtles gliding about him,we also went up to the top of the same tank to wish the 2 turtles a happy 75th birthday (i still remember watching the dolphins here infact the seating is still the same!).
didn't go on the glass bottomed boat didn't really think it was worth the extra money but thats just my opinion and the boat did seem to be popular.
we really enjoyed our time there infact we managed to stay 2 hours compared to the half hour before.will return soon (so my son has informed me!)

Trip Advisor, visited August 2014


Having seen a newspaper article last week about the centre's turtles celebrating their 75th birthdays, we were reminded how much we enjoyed a previous trip... So, we headed back to Brighton today; We thought the refurbishments had really enhanced the place, (though retaining the enchanting Victorian building); the variety of fish and other sea life on display were excellent, with many fascinating facts; the underwater tunnel was fantastic- mesmerising to watch the turtles, sharks, rays etc effortlessly gliding past; the giant crabs were great! We'll be back again.

Trip Advisor, visited August 2014


Myself and my Husband visited here Sunday morning before we headed back home.
We arrived just after opening time and went straight in, 2 adult tickets, a guide book and 2 tickets for the boat cost £39 (you can come and go all day with this so great price!)

We took a steady walk round the beginning as we had been booked to go on the glass bottom boat half an hour later. The fish all seem to be in perfectly sized tanks, not too over crowded like some places are. Each display has a monitor next to it giving information about all the different species contained.

We headed up to where the boat was and watched the giant turtles lapping round the tank. We were asked to take off our shoes for the boat, step on and take a seat. Its a pretty surreal feeling to be above the sharks, fish, turtles and stingray swimming around underneath you, I even had a little fish come right up to the glass where my hand was and give it a little kiss!
The guy doing the talk was very informative and even named each of the sharks as they swam under us. It was just a 15 minute little tour but i would recommend it to anyone!

We continued walking round the remaining exhibits and reading about all the different species and what they get up to, stopped off to get out free hot drink from the cafe (on free hot drink with each guide purchased) and then finished our walk round.

We were in there for just under 2 hours and loved every minute. Knowing if i had the chance i could go back later in the day was a bonus too!

Would be happy to visit again.

Trip Advisor, visited July 2014


I always come here for my birthday. It was fantastic. I love the way it's been taken back to the brick work, it brings a whole new atmosphere to the halls. Love the turtles.

Trip Advisor, visited July 2014


I haven't been to the sea life centre since the refit but I eventually got to see it for the first time in years on Sunday and the place has came on leap and bounds. My 1 year old son loved the place, so fascinated with all the different fish etc and was so chuffed with himself that he touched a starfish but didn't touch the crab as he wasn't sure on it but I don't blame him, he's one! I found the digital displays with information more effective and better than wooden or plastic signs that get worn over a period of time. All in all a fantastic visit.

Trip Advisor, visited July 2014


My 1st visit to the sealife centre. What a fantastic venue. A beautiful victorian aquarium with great exhibits..the fish..crabs..snakes and octopus are amazing...had a great 2 hours with my 13 year old daughter. Lots of activities for all ages..a bit pricey for full admission prices. Top tip.. go to costa coffee in the lanes first and pick up a 30% discount voucher for upto a family of 4 on the general admission price...bargin!!! A must visit attraction if you come to Brighton.

Trip Advisor, visited July 2014


Well worth a visit, the sea life centre is very educational and breath taking in it's own way. Provides a chance to really be at one with sea life with insight into the fascinating marine organisms that call the sea home.
A great attraction to visit.

Trip Advisor, visited July 2014


My daughter had an amazing and very educational experience thanks to Lucy and Karol at the rock pool and the shark tank. Excellent staff.

Feedback survey, visited July 2014


It was £30 for two of us with an extra £3 for the glass bottom boat which was definitely worth it! There are so many different sea creatures to sea and the layout of the centre is very fun especially for children. The best part was the glass bottom boat where you could sea the stingrays, a 9ft shark and huge sea turtles amongst other sea creatures with a very helpful guide letting you know lots of different facts about them. There is soothing music and also before you enter, you take a funny photo which can be viewed at the end with different funny backgrounds. Highly recommended, fun for all ages!

*Trip Advisor, visited June 2014


It may be the oldest surviving public aquarium in the world, but it is also one of the best.

My family and I annual pass holders and we popped in late Saturday afternoon just to watch the wonders of the sea. As ever the staff where helpful, well informed - even at the end of the day. There is so much to sea (ha!) and do here that we really should have arrived earlier. But we have annual passes so no doubt will be back to enjoy this wonderful place again.

It is also a bit of TARDIS as the outside gives the feeling of being a small unit, but inside is just keeps on going, getting deeper and larger. All culminating the glass bottom boat ride.

Trip Advisor, visited June 2014


Had a lovely time in the Sea Life centre. Lots of small school children there enjoying their trip which is always good to see. Nice clean tanks for the different exhibits and all looks well cared for. Paid extra and went on the glass bottom boat for a close up with the turtles and sharks,worth the £3.00. They stamp your hand so you can go in and out as many times as you like on that day,handy if you have small children and need a break. We had a 2 for 1 offer with Southern rail,just print off coupon online. Highly recommended.

Trip Advisor, visited June 2014


i found this day excellent and my favourite part was the turtles and the boat thank you!!!!!!

Feedback survey, visited June 2014


This was the first time I have visited the sea life centre since it was upgraded... Very good upgrade... Great layout... The glass bottom boat was a very good idea... The staff were very friendly and knowledgable... Price was a little high but well worth it... Kids would love it...

Trip Advisor, visited June 2014


We got the gold tickets which included the behind the scenes tour and also chose to take the glass bottom boat too. For two young adults we had a brilliant time! Mike led both tours and he was informative and passionate about his work which made it so exciting :) touching the starfish and sea anemones was so gross but so fun.

Trip Advisor, visited June 2014


Visited the Brighton sealife Centre in May half term 2014 with family and friends. We used tesco club card vouchers a big bonus as it's quite expensive to come here on a day out.
They have access for wheel chairs and prams, toilets and baby changing facilities on site. The food court is a little pricey but good quality, a microwave is available if you need to heat baby's bottles and food.
Majority is flat walking with ramps for push/wheel chairs. There's also a glass bottom boat ride inside the complex for £3.00 per person.
Cash point on site ( don't charge for taking your money out!)
Shark and turtle feeding during the afternoon in the audatruim and various talks about the fish etc
Photos taken with the children with different characters around the complex.
Parking in Brighton is expensive £10 for 4hours unless you get the bus!
Would recommend a visit lovely day out :)

Trip Advisor, visited May 2014


We've been to a couple of sea life centres and this is by far the best one yet. The sea turtles were the highlight and the glass bottom boat was a lovely touch.

Trip Advisor, visited May 2014


visited brighton sealife during a holiday on the south coast and i would recommend to anybody in the area.the staff are passionate about the creatures they care for and are willing to share their experiences and stories.the glass bottomed boat ride was incredible,it was amazing to be so close to several species of shark,giant sting rays and turtles.i am a merlin pass holder so didn't have to pay for entry but took advantage of the discount in the gift shop.thanks to all the staff for a great day out!

Trip Advisor, visited May 2014


I think some of the reviews on here may be slightly old because I am 17 years old and I came here with my boyfriend and we get bored really easy however there is so much to see at Brighton sea centre that it's very worth it. Only £9 online (you would book in advance if you were planning a trip wouldn't you?) and it's worth it when they show you the work they do to help the animals. Had so many different types of fish so great pictures and all kids I saw seemed very happy. Place was so much larger than I thought it would be, staff were very enthusiastic and people by the rock pool were knowledgeable and happy to help with any questions. Touching starfish and corals was great because it was an unexpected surprise. A variety of momentos in the gift shop, everything around the whole sea life center looked new and fun :)

Trip Advisor, visited May 2014


Wonderful afternoon spent today at the Sea life Centre in Brighton, I'd go as far to say the best I've visited. Lovely staff, well run, tidy and clean! Exhibits and tanks all easily accessible for little ones, great day out.

Trip Advisor, visited May 2014


Dean and Pedro were absolutely amazing today, they really put themselves out for my 10 yr old son who is genuinely interested in marine conservation, and have just inspired him more so thanks from Jake who got to feed turtles and is going home v v happy. We will return soon thanks.

Feedback survey, visited May 2014


I have lived in Brighton for years but never been to Sea life. Went on a date with my new boyfriend and it was a really special day. We loved it . So relaxing ,will definately go again. Tanks were so well looked after and the fish were stunning. Great for all ages. excellent.

Trip Advisor, visited April 2014


Amazing visit. Loved the glass bottom boat and the turtle talk, gift shop very friendly.

Feedback survey, visited April 2014


Young man called Alan helped my grandson to go on the boat as he was scared. He made him feel calm. Thank you Alan!!!!!

Feedback survey, visited April 2014


Glass bottom boat was excellent. Staff really relaxed, friendly and knowledgeable.

Feedback survey, visited February 2014


We had a brilliant experience at sealife centre brighton for my little boys 4th birthday on 14th January. The staff were all brilliant with him and even named one of the new fish after him because it was his birthday (Not sure what the fish was but it was orange with black spots.) The glass bottom boat was great and dean made the ride extra special by being a great guide. Even my 1 year old loved crawling around on the bottom. I also couldnt believe it when connor actually touched the starfish!. We were there for about 3 hour's and both children never got bored. They loved it all. Even the lady in the gift shop was brilliant with the kiddies. Overall you have an amazing bunch of staff members and I thank them for making connors birthday even more special for him, :-)

Trip Advisor, visited January 2014


Great family day, real improvements in main hall. Looks brilliant.

Feedback survey, visited January 2014


I will say right now that I remember this place as the Brighton Dolphinarium when I was a kid, and there are 20-30 year olds out there who remember it too.

The thing is, the site Sealife Brighton is now on has so much history. It's not a newly built or pop-up attraction. Even without research you can admire the architecture and mechanics of the construction. Dig a little deeper with you own research online and it will open up history you couldn't imagine!

Take in everything you can whilst here. I will agree with comments here that the 'eye' boat is a bit pricey and no discount for pass holders - it's a bit steep.

Just take your time going around - don't rush - enjoy.

Trip Advisor, visited December 2013


As a filthy wet day 4 of us decided to go into this attraction and were really surprised at it's variety and interest.
Fascinating to see such a variety of small and large fish from above and below.Including large turtles/sharks and sea horses. We booked on line the night before saving almost half the cost. Quite dear I would think ,paying full price, for a family. Very well run and organised with friendly, helpful staff.

Trip Advisor, visited December 2013


Good staff I would reccommend it I especially enjoyed the boat and seahorses.

Feedback survey, visited November 2013


Alan who gave us information on the glass bottom boat was very knowledgeable. He answered the children's questions well. We also liked Olly's presentation at the tank. It is lovely that the chidren get a chance to feed the turtles by answering questions about the information they have heard. A fab day had by all. Thank you.

Feedback survey, visited October 2013


Really friendly staff with great knowledge of the creatures.

Feedback survey, visited September 2013


Had an amazing day. Great for all the family, was here with a group 5years - 75years and all had a wonderful experience!!

Feedback survey, visited August 2013


Of the many many things to do in Brighton, as a family this is a great place to start. As you get to the top of the steps to walk down into the Sea Life Centre, you are reminded by a plaque in the floor that this is the oldest Aquarium still in operation, Opening in 1872.
The Building its self with Vaulted Ceiling is just beautiful, and then you see the fish, and it is just lovely, and wow, there are some HUGE fish, its all so very impressive.. The Staff are so enthusiastic and happy to answer any questions you have, no matter how daft you think the question is... there is a hands on rock pool where you can touch a star fish and other amazing creatures..
Now it is a tad pricey to get into, however there are always 2 for 1 offers on cereal boxes which makes this trip very affordable, and the best bit... once you have paid you can go in and out the sea life centre as many times as you want in that day.. so if you wanted to go and get lunch on the pier, you can go back in again afterwards and wont be charged ...

Trip Advisor, visited June 2013


We visited the beautiful Victorian aquarium with granddaughters aged 6 and 4. They loved the whole experience. It was not crowded on the day we visited. The tanks are big enough for the children to see all the fish. The staff are friendly and informative. The children overcame their fears and stroked a starfish and anemone. We ate icecream and painted a chosen pottery item. The large tank with turtles and sharks was exciting and they enjoyed the walk through the tunnel with sharks swimming overhead. We went out every day that week and this was the attraction the children remembered and asked to go back to. We were sorry they did not accept Tesco vouchers but compared with most places it was good value. Good position right next to the pier.

Trip Advisor, visited June 2013


All staff were helpful and informative. Turtle talk was well given and learnt a lot about turtles and conservation.

Feedback survey, visited June 2013


An excellent experience, my partner and I had excelled our expectations, the staff take exceptional care of all the residents, excellent dedication.

Feedback survey, visited May 2013


Just a wonderful visit, lovely form of escapism.

Feedback survey, visited May 2013


The children really loved the glass bottom boat and the attendant was great: knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. Thank you very much. You made the visit for the children.

Feedback survey, visited April 2013


A must for everyone to visit. Excellent value for money, people of all ages should go....interesting, absorbing and just loose yourself for hours just watching natures beauties (and not so beauties!!!!). Great staff, who know their stuff.....

Trip Advisor, visited April 2013


it's not a big place but they have packed a lot into it for people to see different sea creatures and sealife. They didn't have a separate price for seniors which is always a minus. We are divers and we like to visit aquariums to see names next to fish and critters we might have run into underwater. Always fun to try and identify the fish and see if we are right and I consider any aquarium a good one if they have clean windows and also if they have something I haven't seen underwater yet. Sealife didn't disappoint. would recommend it.

Trip Advisor, visited March 2013


The world's oldest Sealife centre! We've seen loads of aquariums but this one, being set in a an old Victorian underground building has that little something extra. Worth paying a bit more and going for the behind the scenes tour and the glass bottom boat ride as it make you feel like a VIP and you get a bit more out of the day.

Trip Advisor, visited March 2013


We went to the aquarium (Sea Life) in Brighton with our 4 year old son (outside of the school holidays). Prices are OK-ish and marginally cheaper online, but you can't book the glass-bottom boat online when you book your main tickets. Also you can pay with Amex online, but not at the aquarium.

The aquarium itself is a beautiful Victorian building. The fish are well cared for and well displayed. For the kids, there are crabs, starfish and sea anemones that they can touch. Sharks, rays, clown fish (nemo) all help make their day. The glass bottom boat trip is worth the extra £3.00 as you get great views of the sharks and rays.

When you arrive, your hand is stamped so you can leave (e.g. for lunch) and come back later.

If you have children, this is definitely a good day out.

Trip Advisor, visited March 2013


With magnificent Victorian arches and brickwork, revealed by last year's refurb, this is a truly beautiful place. It oozes character and history. It was the world's biggest aquarium when it opened 130 years ago, and OK it is now dwarfed by some examples around the world, but it's interactive displays still really engage the kids. It was a treat to see my friends' kids so happy.

Trip Advisor, visited January 2013


Went at about 2pm on a Thursday. We had 50% off vouchers obtained from the Harvester next door so it was about £16 for the both of us, and we paid an extra £1.50 each to go on the glass bottom boat. There is so much to see here! We stayed there for about two hours and saw all the displays, we also held a crab & a starfish. The staff there are very informative and so well educated, you can tell they don't just employ someone then put them straight out on the floor! The glass bottom boat is a must! For only £1.50 it was great! You get to go over one of the large tanks and all the sharks and turtles come right up close, apparently they love visitors! The guide on the boat - think his name was Mike, also was very very knowledgeable and could reel off tons of interesting facts! I would say this attraction was well worth the money, we are two adults, it was mostly families there with young children but we really enjoyed it and got some amazing photos! Well worth a visit!

Trip Advisor, visited November 2012


It kept granddaughter quiet and she loved all the hands on she could do, and it was a good price, the staff were friendly and helpful when she asked questions of them.

Trip Advisor, visited November 2012


Foundation stage and Years 1 & 2 from Dunottar Junior School in Reigate, Surrey, thoroughly enjoyed a day trip to the Sealife Centre in Brighton.

They enjoyed learning about many fish and sea creatures. They particularly liked touching the sea anemones and starfish. One of the students, aged 4, commented: “I was scared about touching the starfish but I’m not anymore!” They were also thrilled to view sharks, sting rays and turtles. Interestingly, the turtles and not the sharks were the stars of the aquarium!

Lisa Caley, High Trees Foundation Stage Coordinator, commented: 'The Foundation Stage have been studying the topic 'Commotion in the Ocean' & Years 1 & 2 have been studying the topic 'Water'. The girls had fabulous day learning all about life under the sea and encountered a few sharks on their journey through the Sealife centre tunnel. The definite highlight of the day was touching the sea anemones and feeding the turtles with lettuce.'

Dunottar Junior School, visited November 2012


I think a great job has been done on renovations bringing it back to its original state is wonderful the new lighting is also lovely.

Feedback survey, visited November 2012


Alan answered every question very friendly and Hayden was amazing he let my daughter feed Lulu, made her day excellent staff!!

Feedback survey, visited October 2012


Very enjoyable visit. Learnt a lot and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend to others.

Feedback survey, visited September 2012


What an absolutely fantastic afternoon out. From the fish to the stonework, the whole place is a sight for sore eyes. The entrance lobby itself is breathtaking to see, with tall arches and brilliant lighting.

The exhibits are fun, with lots of hands-on displays and interesting info. The jellyfish display is beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the rays..!

Friendly staff, lots of space, well-looked-after animals and enough to keep both adults and children happy - well worth a visit and well worth the money.

Trip Advisor, visited September 2012


You must not miss the Sealife Centre when you are next in Brighton. It's been totally modernised & improved beyond recognition. Plenty for adults to see (we left the grandchildren behind as it was a business trip) & it's not a five minute runaround. Of special interest has to be the glass bottom boat....don't miss it!

Trip Advisor, visited September 2012


Really great day, probably the best aquarium I have ever visited with a truly outstanding sense of the moral obligation we hold to our dear aquatic friends. Katherine, who was working the camera, really set our day off to a fantastic start with her pleasant manner, winning smile and effervesent attitude to the aquatic that won our hearts as well as our minds! Thank you Sea Life!

Feedback survey, visited August 2012


Fantastic customer service, very engaging and I learnt a lot. Good to see so many different activities for children, the face painting looked particularly good!

Feedback survey, visited July 2012


The Glass Bottom Boat was fantastic! The staff member Mike really made my little boy's birthday a special day indeed! Thank you!

Feedback survey, visited July 2012


Glass bottom boat and Behind the Scenes tour were the best part of the day. Staff were brilliant and very helpful.

Feedback survey, visited July 2012

SAVE £'s NOW

Opening Hours

Last entry 1hr prior to closing

Every day
10am - 5pm

Schools & Groups

0871 222 6934
Calls cost 10p per minute plus network extras

Plan Your Visit



Join SEA LIFE for news and special offers!

Subscribe »
Find us on
Flickr
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter